the spirituality of the NOW!

Earlier this morning, I found myself lost in some past events of thirty years ago wondering if I had made the right decision in a certain situation.  I felt that I could have done more and regretted the fact that I had not taken full advantage of a certain opportunity.  Then I told myself that it was useless to wander down those corridors. I then found myself projecting myself into a problematic future.  What if?  Before I knew it, I was creating a whole futuristic scenario that most likely will never happen!  Neither was reality.

The truth is that the only reality that I have is the NOW.  The past is over with.  There is nothing that I can do to re-write it.  On the other hand, the future is not here yet.  It is always problematic.  The only reality that I have is the present moment – the NOW.  The present moment – the NOW – is God’s gift to me.  Living focused in the present moment – the NOW -requires discipline.  It is the essence of spirituality.  God is in the present moment – the NOW – alive and active in my life.  The only reality that I have is the NOW.  It is in the NOW that I encounter my God.

This entry was posted in Christian Faith, General Interests, Spirituality, Uncategorized, virtues. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the spirituality of the NOW!

  1. Rose says:

    Given to me on a card from Fr. Theodore Walsh, CP around 2007 during one of those times that I was everywhere but in the present moment. It often helps keep me grounded. God Bless You!

    I AM

    I was regretting the past and fearing the future. Suddenly my Lord was speaking: “My name is I Am.” He paused. I waited. He continued, “When you live in the past, with its mistakes and regrets, it is hard. I am not there. My name is not I Was. When you live in the future, with its problems and fears, it is hard. I am not there. My name is not I Will Be. When you live in this moment,it is not hard. I am here. My name is I Am.”

Leave a Reply

