Jesus is God

It might seem unnecessary to state that Jesus is God but there are those who do not believe that Jesus is God. There are those who simply see Jesus as a messenger of God; a great prophet; a great teacher but not God. In fact, some of the fiercest controversies of the ancient Church had to do with the relationship of Jesus to God the Father. John 14:7-14 is devoted to this issue. Jesus is explicit: “If you know me, then you will also know my Father…Whoever has seen me has seen the Father … Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing His works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me…” Jesus could not be more explicit. Jesus and the Father are one. Jesus is God! And what does this mean for you and me? It means that we have a God who is approachable; a God who took on human flesh and became one of us; a God who understands human life because He lived it. Our God is not a distant, disconnected God. Our God is intimately involved in each of our lives. And to top it all, this God loves us; this God is a God of mercy and Compassion; this God calls us His beloved children. Blessed are we who believe.

This entry was posted in Christian Faith, Easter, General Interests, Jesus, Spirituality, Today's Scripture Readings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment