St. Mary Magdalene

Today, we remember and celebrate the life of the first preacher of the Gospel – the Good News – St. Mary Magdalene.

What do we know about her?  Was she the public sinner referred to in the Gospels?  Perhaps.  We don’t really know, but we do know four important things about Mary:

  1. She was at the foot of the cross (John 19:25) – one of the few who did not abandon Jesus in His Passion and Death.  This is testimony of her great love of Jesus.
  2. After His death, she sought Him. (John 20:1-2). “… Mary Magdalene came to the tomb.”
  3. She saw the Risen Jesus and apparently threw her arms around Him for Jesus says, “Stop holding on to me …”.
  4. She is honored as the Apostle to the Apostles:  “… go to my brothers and tell them, ‘I am going to my father and your father, to my God and your God.’ Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, ‘I have seen the Lord,’ and then reported what He had told her.” (John 20:11-18).

St. There of Lisieux wrote: “The Magdalene, most of all, is the model I like to follow.  That boldness of hers, which would be so amazing if it weren’t the boldness of a lover, won the heart of Jesus, and how it fascinates me.”

May you and I imitate St. Mary Magdalene today and love Jesus with boldness!

This entry was posted in Christian Faith, General Interests, Jesus, Saints, Spirituality, Today's Scripture Readings. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to St. Mary Magdalene

  1. joedalio says:

    Thanks for this insightful post! It is so true that Mary Magdalene is one of the most prominent examples of a faithful follower of Christ. One that we should all follow 🙂

Leave a comment