Do you realize what I have done for you?

Jesus teaches not only by word but by example.

John 13:1-15 tells us that Jesus “rose from supper and took off His outer garments. He took a towel and tied it around His waist. Then He poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and dry them with the towel around His waist.” The impetuous Peter refuses: “You will never wash my feet!” Jesus tells him that “Unless I wash you, you will have no inheritance with me.” Peter surrenders and allows Jesus to wash his feet. After He has finished washing the feet of all – including Judas Iscariot – and has put His garments back on, Jesus tells His disciples, “Do you realize what I have done for you? You call me ‘teacher’ and ‘master’ and rightly so, for indeed I am. If I, therefore, the master and teacher, have washed your feet, you ought to wash one another’s feet. I have given you a model to follow, so that as I have done for you, you should also do.”

The lesson is clear. We are to be a Servant Church. We are – each of us according to our gifts and abilities – are to be of service to others, especially those in need. We have to develop a mindset of service and translate that mindset into action – and each of us can and must do that. Service is not an option for the follower of Jesus. We have been given a model in Jesus, Himself.

This entry was posted in Christian Faith, General Interests, Holy Week, Jesus, Spirituality, Today's Scripture Readings, Uncategorized, virtues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment